Tuesday, December 31, 2013

And the Newsmaker of 2013 is...

7:39AM Dec 31, 2013

And the Newsmaker of 2013 is... 

Every year, for over a decade, Malaysiakini has named a top newsmaker as we bring the curtain down on the year.

A newsmaker is defined as “someone whose actions make news headlines, who effects the course of public discourse and creates an impact in Malaysian politics, for better or worse”.

Malaysiakini has nominated 12 candidates for the newsmaker of 2013 award. A total of 1,450 participated in the seven-day poll, opened only to paying subscribers of the news portal.

They voted by indicating their preference for each of the nominees - one vote being the lowest and 10 the highest.

This year, Malaysiakini readers paid tribute to perhaps the most controversial woman in Malaysia.

The award goes to...

And the newsmaker of 2013 is Rosmah Mansor, wife of Prime Minister Najib Razak.

Controversies have dogged Rosmah over the years. But what possibly helped her win this year’s award - she was no 7 last year - was perhaps her overseas trip using the government-funded private jet.

Rosmah is the second woman to have won the award outright, which was first given out in 2001. Ambiga Sreenevasan won it last year, while Rafidah Aziz shared the award with Dr Mahathir Mohamad in 2005.

Home Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, who has a penchant to ‘shoot first’ with his mouth, finished a close second this year.

Interestingly, another controversial entity, the Election Commission, made it to No 3 on the list.

At the other end of the list, it appears that elder brother P Uthayakumar, who is currently serving a jail sentence for sedition, is more popular between the Hindraf duo.

He edged out his younger brother, deputy minister in the Prime Minister’s Department P Waythamoorthy, who emerged last among the candidates.

Here’s the full list:

1. Rosmah Mansor

9,552 points

2. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi


3. Election Commission


4. Shahrizat A Jalil


5. Khalid Ibrahim


6. Mohamad ‘Mat’ Sabu


7. N Surendran


8. Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor


9. Dr Mahathir Mohamad


10. P Uthayakumar


11. Mukhriz Mahathir


12. P Waythamoorthy


Previous newsmakers
2012 - Ambiga Sreenevasan
2011 - Bersih supporters
2010 - Ibrahim Ali
2009 - Teoh Beng Hock
2008 - YOU
2007 - VK Lingam
2006 - Mahathir Mohamad
2005 - Joint award - Rafidah Aziz and Mahathir Mohamad
2004 - S Samy Vellu
2003 - Husam Musa
2002 - Zainuddin Maidin
2001 - Rais Yatim

No comments:

Post a Comment